top of page

Reviewing Recipes: Healthy Pumpkin Muffins

I have been trying to reduce the amount of sugar I am consuming because I think I am struggling with candida overgrowth. However, I am still nursing so I cannot do the cleanse diet in its fullness because I am feeding two people and I would not get enough nutritionally from a cleansing diet for me and my little one. I had some leftover pumpkin puree in my fridge, so I decided to look for a healthy pumpkin muffin recipe. I found this one by Cookie and Kate and decided to test it.

This recipe uses a lot of ingredients, but there are also a lot of options for making it suit your diet or to make it healthier. For where there were ingredient choices I chose: all purpose flour, maple syrup, lactose-free milk, coconut oil, and allspice. Most of these were chosen because they were what I had on hand, or because I felt they would suit the spices in this recipe better.

These muffins are delicious. This recipe did not take me any longer to make than any other muffin recipe I have used in the past. The instructions are detailed, but easy to follow, and the final product is very yummy. The only "cons" I see in this recipe are as follows:

  1. There are a lot of ingredients, some of which may not be in the average family's cupboard.

  2. This recipe only produced 12 muffins. I cannot remember if that's normal or not (it's been a while since I've last baked), but if you have a large family you will definitely want to double it, which could make it more expensive to make.

However, overall I am really happy with this choice and I feel much better eating these over grocery store muffins. Happy baking!

Recent Posts
RSS Feed
Archive
bottom of page