top of page

My Top 5 Free Fonts (for commercial use!)

When you're playing with graphic designs this inevitably means you'll be playing with fonts. When I first started learning the art back in the 2000s there definitely were not as many free font resources as there are now. My favourite site for finding free fonts for commercial use (this means you can use the fonts in products you sell, not just for personal projects) is Font Squirrel. They vet the fonts to make sure that you can use them commercially and not violate anyone's artistic license/copyright.

So here are my top five favourite free fonts:

  1. Bebas Neue I love the clean lines of this font. It makes wonderful headings and subheadings and comes in a variety of weights! Definitely one of my consistent go-tos.

  2. Milkshake A little bit of old and new school. This font looks great paired with a lot of popular sans serif fonts and really suits a retro vibe.

  3. Amatic SC Regular A great font that has that messy, hand-drawn feel. Again, good for headings and subheadings and adds a little bit of that campy vibe. (Am I the only one that had to a camp that made you paint name signs for your tent?)

  4. Abril FatFace A solid serif font to add to the collection. Great for titles and labels. It stands out and makes itself known with a bit of old school elegance.

  5. BP Replay A great sans serif font with flexibility. I love the way it's rounded. It makes a wonderful sub-heading or body font. It's one I like to lean on when working with tricky fonts that make a statement.

That's it for now. What are some of your go-to fonts?

Cheers!

P.S. If you like the watercolour background for this image you can buy it as a digital paper here.

Recent Posts
RSS Feed
Archive
bottom of page